Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is usually a class B misdemeanor with a maximum jail time of 180 days and a maximum fine of $1,500.00 plus an 85% surcharge.
A first time DUI offender is required to spend two days in jail, although it is possible in some cases to complete 48 Hours of community service in lieu of jail.
A Second DUI (within 10 years) requires 10 days jail or 240 hours community service.
A Third DUI (within 10 years) is a Third Degree Felony and is punishable by up to 5 years at the Utah State Prison.
An Alcohol Related Reckless Driving counts as a previous DUI for enhancement purposes.
DUI’s are aggressively prosecuted in Utah and you need an aggressive Utah DUI defense attorney to meet the force of the prosecution. Most DUI’s are defeated because of a technical defect in the police reports or the intoxilyzer (breath test) or because some evidence is suppressed. Only a experienced Utah DUI attorney can find these flaws and help you defeat a DUI charge.