Police in the Sandy Hills area are looking for a possible kidnapper after a man reportedly tried to pull a young girl into his vehicle. The girl was able to escape from the alleged kidnapper, but police have yet to find the man.
When prosecutors charge a person with kidnapping in Utah, they have to specify the type of kidnapping involved since kidnapping children is looked at differently according to the law.
What is Child Kidnapping?
If a person takes or transports a child under the age of 14 without the parent’s or guardian’s consent, that person may be charged with child kidnapping. (Don’t confuse this crime with Custodial Interference, which involves child custody issues.)
Child kidnapping is a first degree felony which is frequently punishable by a minimum of 15 years in prison. There are other possible punishments, however. A person may be sentenced to life in prison without the possibility of parole if another person is seriously injured during a child kidnapping or if the kidnapper has been previously convicted of a grievous sexual offense.
Sentences for Kidnapping Can Differ
There is the possibility that a person could be found guilty of child kidnapping, but be sentenced to a lesser time period if the court determines that the interests of justice are best served by a reduced sentence. The court may require that a person serve a minimum of 6 years or 10 years in prison, depending on the circumstances.
When you are in a legal bind, it’s best to contact a Utah criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Acting quickly may help get your case on the right track to a satisfactory conclusion. Make the right move today; call a Utah criminal defense attorney.
- Utah Kidnapping Results in Amber Alert
- Potential Kidnapper Thwarted by Rocks
- Kidnapping Girlfriend Doesn’t Fly in Utah
- Unlawful Detention versus Kidnapping in Utah
- Utah Court of Appeals Upholds Life Without Parole for Aggravated Kidnapping Conviction