If you commit an auto burglary, you could always try to cover it up by setting the car on fire when you’re done.
Burglars are Busy Beavers
That appears to be what some auto burglars in Provo, Utah did early this morning. A woman saw a figure in black prowling around cars on the street in front of her home. She went back into her home and moments later heard a loud explosion, which turned out to be a truck going up in flames. Police noted that the fire completely destroyed the truck, but that wasn’t the only vehicle set on fire. A car further down the street was also found burning.
At least five cars—including the two that were burned—were allegedly burglarized. All the vehicles were located within a very small radius of each other. Provo police are on the lookout for the burglars-turned-arsonists.
Burglary of a vehicle is a class A misdemeanor and can be charged if a person illegally enters a vehicle intending to commit a felony or theft. If an individual decides to commit burglary of several vehicles, he can probably count on being charged with a separate misdemeanor for every car he burgles.
What Constitutes Arson?
You might be charged with arson if you use fire or explosives to set someone’s property on fire. The amount of damage caused determines the level of crime you’re charged with. For example, if you set a car on fire and the damages amount to $8000, you’ll be charged with a second degree felony. That felony charge could send you to prison for 1-15 years.
When you’ve made some mistakes and the law has caught up with you, it’s time to turn to an experienced Utah criminal defense attorney. Don’t talk to law enforcement or discuss your case with anyone but your attorney. Get the help you deserve by having a top Utah criminal defense attorney on your side.
- Utah Criminal Legal Definition: Burglary
- Utah Burglary Solved Because Neighbors Sold Stolen Items at Yard Sale
- Burglary and Attempted Theft of ATM
- Gang Related Shooting Ends in Guilty Plea
- Alleged Arson Suspects Apprehended