It should come as no surprise that Utah maintains a firm stance when it comes to marijuana law. Whether by possession of marijuana and/or related paraphernalia, sale, or even just by having metabolite traces of the drug in your system from prior use, the subsequent charges can be detrimental to your life.
Understanding marijuana laws in Utah can help you avoid such heavy-handed charges and penalties. For example, many are arrested every year having recently smoked marijuana in Colorado, thinking that they couldn’t be charged in Utah. But that’s not the case. And if you’re facing marijuana charges, you’ll benefit from finding a knowledgeable and experienced attorney to help you through your case.
Types of Marijuana Laws in Utah
- Marijuana Possession: Possession of 1oz of marijuana in Utah qualifies as a Class B misdemeanor. Class B misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of $1,000 and a maximum of 6 months imprisonment.
- Sale: The sale of any amount of marijuana in Utah is a Second Degree felony, punishable by 5 years of imprisonment and a $5,000 fine. These penalties increase when a sale is done in the presence of a minor, or within 1,000 feet of a school.
- Paraphernalia: The paraphernalia charges in Utah look the same as possession charges. As a Class B misdemeanor, penalties can include 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
- Metabolite DUI: Another law in Utah that includes marijuana is the metabolite DUI. The metabolite DUI is another Class B misdemeanor, including 6 months of jail time and a mandatory 120 day license suspension.
There are also certain collateral consequences that are worth considering when it comes to marijuana law in Utah. For example, any marijuana charges–even those unrelated to driving–will result in a license suspension of 6 months. There’s also a chance for supervised probation, house arrest, and other such penalties that can be detrimental to your ability to work and pay the aforementioned penalties.
The Importance of Choosing the Right Marijuana Attorney
Understandably, hiring an attorney can be an intimidating expense for most, but finding a knowledgeable and experienced attorney can give you the best chance to minimize or even reverse the charges at hand. For example, even a small misstep in the process of a marijuana-related arrest can lead to a case being dismissed.
Contact Clayton Simms Today!
If you’re facing marijuana charges in Utah, you’ll benefit having an experienced attorney by your side. A criminal defense lawyer like Clayton Simms can help turn your case in a more favorable direction. Visit his site today to learn more, or to schedule a case analysis!