Since a lot of people like to drink a nice cold beer or glass of wine from time to time, it’s good to be reminded of what the penalties are for being found guilty of a Utah DUI. Those consequences can be quite severe, and it doesn’t take much alcohol in your blood stream to be considered under the influence in Utah.
How Much Alcohol is Necessary for a Utah DUI?
You are not legally allowed to operate a vehicle in this state if any of the following occur:
• If your blood or breath alcohol concentration is .08 grams or greater at the time of a chemical test or
• If you are under the influence of alcohol, any drug or the two combined and it’s determined that you can’t operate a vehicle safely or
• If you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 grams or more at the time of operation or actual physical control of a vehicle
Penalties for Utah DUI
Most first time Utah DUI offenders are charged with a class B misdemeanor. The charge increases to a class A misdemeanor if you
• Inflict bodily injury upon someone as a result of your negligent behavior
• Have a passenger under 16-years-old at the time of the offense
• Are 21-years-old or more and have a passenger under the age of 18 in your vehicle
You may be charged with a third degree felony if you cause serious bodily injury on someone else or if you’ve had two or more prior convictions which are within 10 years of:
• The current conviction or
• The time of the offense for the current conviction or
• A conviction of automobile homicide or
• A felony violation for a Utah DUI
As you can see, the laws concerning DUIs in Utah can be complex and confusing, particularly to the average citizen. That’s why you should immediately discuss your case with a Utah criminal defense attorney if you’ve been charged with a Utah DUI or any other crime.
It’s in your best interest to have a reputable legal expert on your side in any criminal matter. Make the right move and talk to a Utah criminal defense attorney today.