New Firework Laws in Utah

As Independence Day celebrations draw closer, residents should be informed of the new firework laws put into effect this year as well as restrictions specific to their area.

Less days for fireworks

Photo by: David Joyce

Prior to the 2018 legislative session, fireworks were allowed to be discharged 14 days in July: July 1st through July 7th and July 21st through July 27th. The amended laws approved by Utah lawmakers have now reduced lawful firework days to only eight days: July 2nd through July 5th and July 22nd through July 25th. The allowable firework days for New Year’s Eve and Chinese New Year remain the same. Although fireworks are allowed throughout Utah on the eight approved days in July, that does not mean they are allowed everywhere.

Restricted firework areas

The state of Utah is currently seeing record high temperatures mixed with low humidity and accompanying winds. These conditions increase the likelihood of wildfires even without the use of recreational flaming explosives. In order to prevent firework use from adding to the growing number of wildfires presently active throughout Utah, there are areas where fireworks are not permitted. Statewide, fireworks are prohibited on state owned as well as federal land. Additionally most areas outside city limits or within close proximity to washes, wooded areas, or other locations where the chance of a brush fire is increased may have restrictions for firework use.

Penalties unlawful discharge of fireworks

Utah Code 53-7-225 states “A person is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, if the person discharges a class C common state approved explosive:

(a) outside the legal discharge dates and times . . . or

(b) in an area in which fireworks are prohibited”.

Residents should consult with their state and city laws prior to firework use to ensure their holiday festivities are in accordance with local laws.

Call a Cab or Phone a Friend – Do Not Drink and Drive

As the smoke from the fireworks has settled and everyone is headed home, those who have been consuming alcohol are being warned by law enforcement to call a cab or phone a friend; do not drink and drive.

Deadly day on the road

Photo by: Matthew Blouir

Photo by: Matthew Blouir

The 4th of July is a day of celebrating our nation’s independence and many do this by consuming mild to excessive amounts of alcohol while playing with dangerous fireworks. This combination itself can be hazardous, but getting behind the wheel of a car after drinking is can be fatal for the driver or others on the road.

Do Not Drink and Drive

Photo by: Michael Fötsch

Be responsible-don’t drink and drive

Residents who end up wasted at the end of the night usually know ahead of time that their plans involve drinking. Instead of making the deadly and usually impaired choice to drink and drive, party-goers are encouraged to be responsible and plan ahead. Some ways to do this include:

• Decide early on a designated driver.
• Give a sober friend the car keys.
• Have a friend or family member pick you up at a determined time.
• Have the number to a cab company on hand and enough cash for the trip home.
• Take public transportation to the party to take away any option of driving home.
• Encourage those around you to not drink and drive as well.

Increased DUI patrols

Photo by: 911 Bail Bonds Las Vegas

Photo by: 911 Bail Bonds Las Vegas

Law enforcement officials throughout Utah are warning residents that they will have an increased amount of patrols out in full force to catch drunk drivers this 4th of July. Those who drink and drive and a caught by one of the numerous DUI stops planned for the holiday can face days to weeks in jail and up to thousands of dollars in fines. Additionally, choosing to drink and drive for one night can result in a suspended license for up to 2 years. Those facing DUI charges with or without being the cause of an vehicular accident are encouraged to contact a criminal defense attorney.